Why You MUST Tell Your Story

And do you know? All of us were born for more than just eking out a living on this spinning earth. Because if there is one thing God’s crazy about? It’s His glory…and you. So this year? Make it the best year ever and tell your story – His story.

January 2, 2014 I penned those words with a confident flourish. I believed it and I lived it, because I have known it, how the telling of your story, which is really HIS, is ultimately the true embrace of healing.

But sometimes you can forget that.

I have known hardship and I have known loss, and sometimes nothing prepares you for the twists and turns of your road, all those ways you didn’t know you could hurt…all at once.

I still don’t know if I’m brave enough to talk about it all. The truth is?

I don’t know if I know how. 

I am driving down the road, my thoughts flying in these million directions, when this song starts to play. There I am wondering how I break the deep silence that engulfs not just my web space, but my heart.

Sometimes the ink runs out. You know? There is so much to say and no words to say it, and the risks of going unheard or being misunderstood? 

(That is a real fear.)

But then this song. This song comes on and I know it’s a message straight from God. To tell you my story is to tell of Him. The words are a whisper of courage to my soul.

I don’t know what it means to stop scratching the surface and really tell you my story, but today I know why I not only can, but I must.

Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine. 

This is my story, this is my song.

5 thoughts on “Why You MUST Tell Your Story

  1. I can so understand your heart in this… I quit writing mostly when I had more questions than answers and more despair the hope and redemption… Thankfully. God bring redemption to my story in a way that I see I needed the difficulty to change me and my story to something more beautiful! Live and blessings to you dear sister!!!

  2. Thank-you, Rhoda! Your words of blessing mean a lot…especially since you know, in your own way, from your own story, what it means to have “been there”…grace to you!

Comments are closed.