{Passion Week} Theology of a Commoner

I don’t really know how to make sense of it.

The intellectual conversations and the scholarly terminology that frame-up theology to feel so-out-of-reach.

I’m just a commoner.

I learn fast and I try hard and I think there’s a small part of me that might be erudite.

But at the end of the day, beyond learning the definition of soteriology and having a dialogue of grace (conversations I very much enjoy from time to time), at the end of the day, I’m an ordinary commoner and what is doctrine without shoe leather?

Because doctrine is not just a set of beliefs taught, it is a set of beliefs held

We can talk salvation, but that doesn’t make us saved.

There is lip service and there is life service. 

The  one matters little if the other doesn’t exist.

Words matter, but not more than how you live your life.

Doctrinal words don’t necessarily equal a doctrinal life, but a doctrinal life will have a doctrinal tongue.IMG_7194

And what is a doctrinal life, unless it has seen the Cross?

Two slabs of wood, roughly hewn together, the tree upon which a Man hung and died.

To pay my debt.

Can we be saved, unless we pick up this Cross?

What is salvation, outside of Christ?

Our soteriology is but mental assent, unless it is rooted in Jesus the Truth.

So many ideas and opinions anymore, and the common man feels out-of-place in the discussion of theology, but when Thomas asked Jesus how to know the way? Jesus answered, I am the way, the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” 

 

The first verse I ever memorized, after John 3:16, was from the heavy book of Romans. “For all have sinned and come short of the glory of God.”

The defining moment in the destiny of my life was the moment in which I saw the Cross for what it was – the bloody instrument of torture upon which the body of Christ was ravaged, to pay a debt He did not owe.

No credentials are needed to have this experience. To know that LoveIMG_4859

And if we heed the words of the Man who gave His life for us, every debate over the doctrine of salvation is nullified.

The Gospel is not simplistic, but it is simple.

For God?

His language is a dialect every heart can understand. 

And that, is the glory of the Cross.

