Announcing…

…the birth of Leo Michael Vining, born August 12th at 9:30 am. The healthy, pink-skinned boy with black hair is 7 pounds, 1 ounce and 20 3/4 inches long. He is very wide-eyed and alert and seems to be a calm baby.

IMG_2385We love him so.

Today we head to the hospital to pick him up and bring him home. I have been living some of the most beautiful and the most painful days of my life. As hard as you try to prepare yourself for how it will all feel, there are some things that no amount of preparation will prepare you for… like the day you are walking into a hospital to bring your little baby home, but it’s also the day his birth mom will weep over his face because she must leave and walk back through the prison gates.

My heart is wrenched all over the place.

Yesterday I put my arms around his mom and I held her tight and I told her, “I’m praying for you. I promise. I promise, we’ll love him like our own.”

I’ve been walking around with a lump in my chest for the last three days, but I am not asking myself why I am doing this, I am asking myself why I ever questioned if I should.

The air is thick with redemption.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Announcing…

  1. He is BEAUTIFUL! Blessings to you all…I can’t imagine the ache…and yet the joy too, but I love that you all are doing this. It’s something that I think more of us God followers should be doing. Anyway, have fun soaking in all that newborn sweetness. 🙂

  2. Hello Renee. I just discovered your blog “by accident”. And I just read a little bit of your story on your blog. I just want to let you know that your story is a blessing. Thank you so much for sharing. It’s a wonderful thing (in the true sense of the word) that you’re doing for baby Leo and his mother. May God fill these days with more grace than you can imagine. Blessings from England!

  3. but I am not asking myself why I am doing this, I am asking myself why I ever questioned if I should.

    Yes! Yes! Yes!!! My most favorite line of your post, even though the news of Leo is off the charts exciting!!!!

Comments are closed.