Unwrapping the Gift of Monday

It’s Monday.

The day that looms heavy as a weekend comes to its dreaded end. Didn’t we just celebrate Friday?

I think about this as I clean windows 7:30 Monday morning, how I hear this day get so much hate mail every week. I think about my own feelings of disdain for the end of a weekend and the start of another week, how I said, from my corner of the couch, last night: “Sometimes I am so tired of living.” 

It’s Monday.

And while I wanted to burrow deeper into my blankets and pillows, I willed my feet to hit the floor at 6:00 am, to get up and move and get started because the day was here, ready or not.

Ready or not, his lunch needed packed, the laundry started, breakfast set out, the bed made, but before it all we crack open the Word to feed our souls, because we hunger and we thirst and oh, we desperately need this Bread of Life.

He’s in the bathroom then, after the grapefruit, toast and the reading of Christ, and I’m wiping windows clean and thinking about Monday, this day I’m living right now.

“It’s the start of a new week, Lord. Sanctify me this week.” I am praying through my lack of motivation and the lazy, selfish urges and the discontentment. I feel like such a hypocrite because I’m realizing that even though I don’t say it like so many others do, I’m right there with everyone else hating Monday, blaming Monday, losing [the gift of] Monday.

Losing the gift of Monday?

The truth is, sometimes I am tired of living. Of washing the same pants and the same skirts over and over again. Of wiping the same windows and making another grocery list and cleaning the same room another time. Of doing all the things I do from Monday to Friday every week, fifty-two times in one year, starting every time with a Monday.

It gets old.

To sanctify is to set-apart or declare holy. I am praying for this set-apart holiness for this week, and what if I would just rise up on Monday and declare it, this starting of another week of living, to be holy?   

Because can’t all this living be holiness to the Lord, if offered to Him?

This day that I live, this Monday, this is the day that the Lord has made and I remember how it ends, that verse I learned so long ago in Sunday School. Let us rejoice and be glad in it.

The more I bring my flesh to the table of thanksgiving, the more I give thanks, and the more I give thanks, the more I breathe thanks, and the more I breathe thanks, the more I become.

And I do believe it, that this Monday is a gift. I hear the birds singing and the sky is blue and the world is spinning with the glories of spring.

IMG_9891

* Because we all need something fresh on a Monday *

A simple project that will add some “bling” to your wardrobe (with just one old t-shirt) and put an extra spring in your step this week.

Music to start your week off. Small lives offered to Christ – they are better than a hallelujah. <iframe width=”420″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/lD_pCr_Xrnc&#8221; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

One thought on “Unwrapping the Gift of Monday

Comments are closed.