Everyday, Unsung Heroes in my Life

I am pretty sure I am one of the most blessed of women on the face of the earth. Every-other-week I get to be with…
DONNA:
My beautiful sister-in-law who has taught me so much about friendship and grace. When we met years ago, she spoke words of affirmation into my life. I remember her telling me that I was “charming and easy-to-love and inspiring” and there was no way she could know – a stranger back then – that her encouragement cheered my heart and breathed confidence into my insecurities…and has ever since.
We’ve become the best of friends, and truth be told, Donna Mullet knows more of my heart, next to my husband, than anyone else I know. What’s awesome is that my husband is the best of friends with her man…that means we get to go on lots of fishing, camping, tea-picking, and other various adventures together! (We don’t know what we’d do without them.)
LEAH:
One of the very few people who get me when it comes to diet, my wary fascination with GMO’s, and eating healthy. She is a companion of sorts on this journey of annihilating fears (regarding health issues), and my fellow researcher. Leah’s companionship breathes confidence into my stands on health-related topics. I love her passionate spunk! We’re two peas in a pond thataway!
She and her husband have encouraged my husband and I with their zeal for truth. We’re reading Radical, recommended by them, and being supercharged in our faith. Oh yes, and her daughter Gia is lots of fun to babysit. I’ve been so honored to be her choice of babysitter for her little girl.
APRIL:
The newest addition to our group, I have loved learning to know April more intimately. Our husbands, Ryan and Josh, tease us that they are often the last ones to leave church because we can’t stop gabbing. We are one-of-a-kind when it comes to talking lots and laughing loud. April offers unmerited grace to my messy self and allows me the freedom to be raw, to speak honest, and to feel broken…all while calling me to be more. April cares deeply for people and where they are at. A year ago, my husband shared some vulnerable, personal things in church and April – the new girl on the block – has been one of two people…in ten months…to want to listen.
SUSIE:
I can always count on my friend Susie, the lover-of-spontaneity, to pull through for me in a last-minute funk. “Susie, I forgot the stickers!” phone call about our VBS class…”Wanna go walking in half an hour?” text at eight am…”Want to get together tonight?” for last minute hot dog roasts… We help each other plan our sometimes halfway- insane brainstorms, which to do this date include a weekend backpacking trip with four other couples. Susie has been a most faithful friend. She’s heard me through all my rants – serious or nitpicky – and loves me still.
LAURA:
Laura is another sister-in-law and a friend of mine since the crazy days of seventeen. She somehow kept my secret (that I liked her brother) and his secret (that he liked me) from both of us and let God do the work of bringing us together. She’s incredibly loyal and true-to-her word like that. I know that anytime I share something personal, I can count on her to be trustworthy and true. She is such a good momma to her boys, my dear nephews Aston and Carson, and a truly noble woman of God.
ANDREA:

The momma of my beloved nephew, Alex, my dear sister, and a best friend. She offers grace upon grace to me; she always has time to listen to me spout off my anger or cry through my grief. She likes details in a story, just like me, which means she doesn’t mind long-winded tellings (because she can return the favor).  She is confident in her own skin and helps me to be confident in mine. She remembers things that most people forget, like the anniversary of my miscarriage or that we love Mom’s Best Naturals cereal (so she picks me up four boxes at a bargain $1 a box). I can call her any time of day with any health concern and she will patiently sort through and dissect my fears and bring me back to reality. She lets me baby her little boy and honors me by letting me babysit him.
Everyday, unsung heroes in my life. Six beautiful, talented, consecrated women of God, who give themselves freely to their husbands and families and homes, to the glory of God.
Donna, Leah, April, Susie, Laura, Andrea…this post is for you and dedicated to you.
You bless me beyond words.
You are my heroes.
With all the love my heart can muster, I wish you all the blessings – and more – that you have given to me.
5 thoughts on “Everyday, Unsung Heroes in my Life

  1. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed
    reading it, youre a great author. I will remember to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back in the future. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great writing, have a nice morning!

Comments are closed.