In the Ordinary & Everyday

God, I want to experience You – in the ordinary and everyday.

I want to see Your Grace in dishwater, as I wash dishes clean in soups and suds, when I hate washing dishes.

I want to see Your Grace in doing laundry – clothes that smell fresh and clean to wear, the tumble of the dryer; cozy. To remember that some children go naked.

God, I want to experience You – in the ordinary and everyday.

I want to see Your Grace in the grouchy customer; smooth her frown with my smile, connect in the moment, souls meeting…Your love shining through.

 I want to see Your Grace when I am busy, overwrought with things to do, too many…and find the grace in letting go, getting done what I can and shrugging at the rest.

In the changing of seasons, the turning of leaves and falling of snow, I want to see Your Grace.

I want to experience You –

     in the hands, newborn, soft…so baby soft;

     in the hands, old, wrinkled and trembling;

      in the hands, young, small, sweetly trusting;

       in the hands, painted, collegiate and presenting;

       in the ordinary and everyday.

The people – kind and grouchy, harsh and sweet, vulnerable and hardened. I want to look – take the time to look into their eyes, share a moment with them, loving them right where they are.

        Because you do.

Lord, let me see Your Grace today.

Let me be Your Grace.

