Killing Sin

With Francesca Battistelli’s song, “It’s Your Life”, playing in the background, I am deep in thought…about the downward spiral of sin. My heart ponders the lyrics: “It’s your life, whatcha going to do? The world is watching you. Everyday the choices you make, say what you are and who your heart beats for, it’s an open door.”

What do my choices say about what I am and who my heart beats for? What do they say to me? What do they say to other people? Do my choices kill sin or invite sin?

More specifically, I’ve been thinking about sin and accountability to righteousness. What do we want to hear from others regarding our lives? Just the fuzzy warm whispers of affirmation?

“Another common error in accountability relationships is what I call the support group mindset: When someone confesses sin, people offer sympathy but don’t challenge the person. But we don’t need to be consoled or comforted for our sin; we need to kill it!” – Josh Harris

Killing sin happens most effectively in the body of believers. James 5:16 says, “Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.”

I am struck by this truth today. It is all too easy to empathize with sin, rather than confront it. Jesus, give us the deep honesty, the kind that’s bathed in self-sacrificial love, to speak truth – about the sin in our lives and the sin we see in others.

One thought on “Killing Sin

Comments are closed.